When there are business accounts that are no longer in use or do not serve the purpose, deleting such accounts is considered to be the best move. So let’s start with how to delete a QuickBooks Online account?
The same goes with QuickBooks. When there are accounts that are no longer in use, you can delete them. The good thing is deleting accounts in QuickBooks Online does not eliminate the transaction; hence the reports will not alter or change.
Note: QuickBooks also provides the option to restore deleted accounts anytime.
Deleting QuickBooks Online Account: Explanation
In QuickBooks, you can delete and cross out accounts from a specific customer file. However, how you delete such accounts depends on the particular type of account you wish to delete.
After an account is deleted, the transactions will be available, hence you will need to delete them manually. Such accounts still exist, just hidden from plain sight. QuickBooks Online just marks them inactive and hides them (be it for any product, service, or any item).
Why do you need to delete a QuickBooks Online Account?
When you delete an account that is no longer in use, it will help a client to clean the particular chart of accounts. Additionally, it will also make navigating the specific chart of accounts far easier.
Removing a particular account from your specific Chart of Accounts in QuickBooks by deleting it, merging with other accounts, or hiding it is the best option.
How to delete a QuickBooks Online account?
In order to delete an account in QuickBooks, do the following:
- Be aware of the results of deleting an account completely.
- In the Gear icon of the account, click Chart of Accounts.
- Highlight the account you wish to remove or delete by clicking it once and then press the Delete button on the top right.
- Confirm that you wish to delete the particular account. Confirm once again.
- Select Transaction and then choose Banking and get back to the particular Download Transaction page.